A Conspiracy of Lemon

Things have been busy around here.  In addition to “Math Camp” starting (my roommate’s nickname for the stats and micro review sessions I signed up for before the official start of school), I got a job at baked & wired, an amazing coffee shop and bakery near my apartment in Georgetown.  It’s really, really fun but means I’m pretty beat by the time I bike home at 10 pm (beat, and stuffed with cupcakes, but more on that later).  I had today off though, so I had planned on finishing up on my lemon teaser post today.

Enter an unfortunate incident with a pair of scissors (um, I snipped my finger. And yes, it was pretty much as bad as it sounds).  So anyway it took awhile for the bleeding to stop, and then at that point I had to pack up my stuff and bike over to school.  With one hand.  Believe me, I’m as surprised as anyone that that didn’t lead to further injury.

But I survived, and better late than never, right?  I chose this particular recipe from Nigella Lawson because it’s a) lemony b) delectable and c) I have a serious girl crush on Nigella.  Have you ever watched her show?  Everything sounds slightly wicked and totally delicious—like each ingredient added is a secret to be shared between Nigella and all of us salivating in front of the television.  Because the elegance of this recipe is in its overall simplicity, I didn’t change much; just added in some vanilla I brought back with me from South Africa and  swapped out regular lemons for Meyer.  The result is a silken, lightly tangy, luscious pot of lemon cream.  There’s a substantial (read: 2 day) wait time between the initial prep and actual enjoyment of the dessert, but it’s worth it—and patience makes it all so much sweeter in the end, no?

Lemon Cream Pots
adapted from Nigella Lawson
makes 8 little pots or 6 greedy-sized pots

3 Meyer lemons

275g caster/superfine sugar

6 fresh eggs (off the farm fresh is best)

250g mascarpone

scrapings of one vanilla bean

Zest and juice all three lemons into a bowl.  Add the sugar and eggs and whisk together.  Stir in the mascarpone, stirring until it is combined.  Cover and store in the refrigerator for two days. Not one, but two.

Two days on, preheat the oven to 300F/150C.  Put your ramekins into a roasting dish and fill dish with very, VERY hot water until it comes about halfway up the sides of each ramekin.  Divide the lemon mixture evenly between all the pots.

the pots, before baking.

Bake for about 25 minutes.  The cream will look a little runny still, but that’s okay because they’ll set as they cool.  Since you’ve already waited two days, you can wait another 15 minutes before diving in and enjoying.  However if you’d prefer to draw out the wait a bit more, they’ll be fine sitting out for a few hours … or even in the fridge overnight (but let them warm up a bit before indulging so they’re not too chilled).

***

2 thoughts on “A Conspiracy of Lemon

  1. dcstyleisreal

    I just made these and they are beyond delicious! I had to look up the measurements (275g = a full cup) but they were so easy to make. But I would make the smaller cups next time–very rich. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

